Make a Difference

Contact Your Elected Officials

Attend and Speak at Local Government Meetings

Write a Letter to Your Local Newspaper

Go to websites for information about requirements for Letters to the Editor and how to send them to the newspapers. 

*Santa Barbara Independent

*Santa Barbara News-Press

*Santa Maria Times

*Santa Ynez Valley News

*Sun Website:

U. S. Government

President: Barack Obama

U.S. Congress
Senator Barbara Boxer,  Website:

Senator Diane Feinstein,  Website:

House of Representatives, 24th Congressional District
Representative Lois Capps,   Website:

State of California Government

Governor: Jerry Brown,  Website:

State Senate, 19th District
State Senator Hanna-Beth Jackson,  Website:

State Assembly, 35th District
Assemblyman Das Williams,  Website:

County of Santa Barbara Government

Santa Barbara County website:

Board of Supervisors
Salud Carbajal, First District,  Website:

Janet Wolfe, Second District,  Website:

Doreen Farr, Third District (Santa Ynez Valley in this district)

Peter Adam, Fourth District

Steve Lavagnino, Fifth District

Board of Supervisors meets Tuesdays at 9 a.m.   Check County website for location and agenda.

County Administrator
Mona Miyasato,  Website:

Director of Planning and Development
Glenn Russell,  Website:

Director of Long Range Planning, Matt Schneider, Deputy Director,  Website:

County Planning Commission meets 3 Wednesdays/month at 9 a.m.

Central County Board of Architectural Review (CBAR) normally meets 2nd Friday at 9 a.m., Solvang Municipal Courtroom, 1745 Mission Drive, Solvang 

Check planning website for dates, locations and agendas.

Santa Ynez Valley City Governments

City of Buellton, Website:

Holly Sierra, Mayor
Ed Andrisek, Vice Mayor
Dan Baumann
John Connolly
Leo Elovitz

City Manager, Marc Bierdzinski
Planning Director, Marc Bierdzinski

City Council meets 2nd and 4th Thursdays, 6 p.m.
Planning Commission meets 1st and 3rd Thursdays, 6 p.m., unless cancelled
Both groups meet at 140 W. Hwy 246 behind the post office.
See the City website for agendas and any notices of cancellation.

City of Solvang

City Council

Jim Richardson, Mayor
Hans Duus
Joan Jamieson
Edwin Skytt
Neill Zimmerman

City Manager, Brad Vidro
Planning and Community Development Director, Arleen Pelster

City Council meets 2nd and 4th Mondays, 7 p.m.
Planning Commission meets 1st Monday, 7 p.m.
Board of Architectural Review meets  2nd Thursday, 6:00 p.m.
Meetings are held at the City offices, Oak and First Street, Solvang

See the City website for agendas and any notices of cancellation.

Santa Ynez River Water Conservation District, Improvement District No. 1


Board of Trustees
Harlan Burchardi, Division 1 Representative
Jeff Clay, Division 2 Representative
Kevin Walsh, Division 3 Representative
Harry Poor, Division 4 Representative
Brad Joos, Trustee at Large

General Manager, Chris Dahlstrom

Board of Trustees meets 3rd Tuesday of each month, 5:30 p.m.( Nov. – Mar.) and 6:30 p.m. (April – October).  Meetings are held at the Water District office, 3622 Sagunto Street, Santa Ynez.
See website for agendas.